AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Skye AI maths tutor (Third Space Learning)
Third Space Learning · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Third Space Learning |
|---|---|
| Category | AI tutoring (voice) |
| Pupil-facing | yes - children talk to Skye |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - student data not used to train AI models |
| How long inputs are kept | voice recordings and transcripts kept on a rolling 3 years then deleted or anonymised; schools can ask for earlier deletion |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | children's voices are recorded and transcribed; access limited to a safeguarding-trained team; no voiceprints |
| Main use | AI tutor |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://thirdspacelearning.com/trust-compliance/ · https://help.thirdspacelearning.com/en/articles/12933731-uk-data-protection-and-ai-use-of-personal-data · https://thirdspacelearning.com/tutoring/ai-tutoring-safeguarding/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/skye-ai-maths-tutor. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.