Smartgrade (Powermark AI marking)
AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Smartgrade Ltd · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
- 4 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
- 4 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Smartgrade Ltd |
|---|---|
| Category | AI marking / assessment |
| Pupil-facing | pupil work (teacher-facing) |
| Processor or controller | processor (school is controller) |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - student data never used for training; anonymised/pseudonymised before AI |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | teachers review and override marks |
| Main use | AI essay and work marking |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.smartgrade.co.uk/solutions/ai-auto-marking · https://www.smartgrade.co.uk/privacy-policy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/smartgrade. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.