← Back to Socrative (Socrative AI)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Socrative (Socrative AI)

Showbie Inc · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
  • No school DPA found
SupplierShowbie Inc
Categoryquizzes / formative assessment
Pupil-facingyes - students answer; AI teacher-facing
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storedAI via OpenAI
Trains AI models on inputsno - not used for model training
How long inputs are keptOpenAI may keep prompts up to 30 days
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety noteno student names/IDs sent to OpenAI; AI Insights uses anonymised responses
Main useQuizzes and classroom games

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Kahoot! (AI features) (Green), Carousel Learning (AI Insights) (Amber), Wayground (formerly Quizizz) (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://help.socrative.com/en/articles/8770573-data-handling-faq-for-socrative-ai · https://www.socrative.com/privacy/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/socrative. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.