AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Tapestry
The Foundation Stage Forum Ltd · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | The Foundation Stage Forum Ltd |
|---|---|
| Category | EYFS learning journal |
| Pupil-facing | children's records (staff/parent use) |
| Processor or controller | processor (setting is controller) |
| Where data is stored | UK company; sub-processors may be inside or outside UK/EEA |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://tapestry.info/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Tapestry-Contract-Dec-2025.pdf |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | yes - contract is the DPA |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | AI features and AI training not stated in contract |
| Main use | EYFS and primary learning journals |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://tapestry.info/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Tapestry-Contract-Dec-2025.pdf · https://education.tapestry.info/articles/ai-in-early-years-education-enhance-not-replace/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/tapestry. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.