AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Tassomai (Mai AI tutor)
Tassomai Ltd · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 4 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 4 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Tassomai Ltd |
|---|---|
| Category | adaptive quizzing / AI tutor |
| Pupil-facing | yes - students chat with Mai |
| Processor or controller | processor for school accounts (school is controller) |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated (anonymised data used to improve the service) |
| How long inputs are kept | all Mai chat conversations stored to review and improve responses |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | uses OpenAI GPT-3.5; only the student's first name is shared; AI can be switched off in account settings |
| Main use | Adaptive practice (multi-subject) |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.tassomai.com/mai · https://www.tassomai.com/privacy · https://www.tassomai.com/processors
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/tassomai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.