AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Teachable Machine
Google · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | |
|---|---|
| Category | AI literacy / model training |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | trains in browser; data stays on device unless saved to Drive |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - examples processed locally |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | AI literacy and coding lessons |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://blog.google/innovation-and-ai/products/teachable-machine/ · https://github.com/googlecreativelab/teachable-machine-v1/issues/49
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/teachable-machine. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.