AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Turbo AI (TurboLearn)
Turbo AI · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
| Supplier | Turbo AI |
|---|---|
| Category | AI note-taking |
| Pupil-facing | yes - students |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | sent to OpenAI, Anthropic, Modal Labs |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - personal info may be used to train AI tools; no clear opt-out |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | records lectures |
| Main use | Study tools and flashcards |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Kortext study+ (AI study tools) (Amber), Pearson AI Study Tool (Pearson+ / Mastering) (Amber), Perlego (Ask the Book / Research Assistant) (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.turbo.ai/privacy-policy · https://www.turbo.ai/terms-of-service
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/turbo-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.