AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Twinkl AI (Ari)
Twinkl · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Supplier says it is not for pupils
| Supplier | Twinkl |
|---|---|
| Category | lesson resources / teacher assistant |
| Pupil-facing | no - teacher-facing |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - inputs not used to train or fine-tune any model (Gemini, Amazon Nova, OpenAI used) |
| How long inputs are kept | not remembered between sessions; prompts and responses logged for safety |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | Report Writer asks only a child's first name; Twinkl publishes a self-assessment against the DfE product safety standards |
| Main use | Lesson planning and teacher resources |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: MagicSchool (Green), Teachmate (Green), Brisk Teaching (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.twinkl.com/blog/ai-and-twinkl-trust-charter · https://www.twinkl.com/legal/privacy-policy · https://www.twinkl.com/blog/twinkl-ai-tools-and-product-safety
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/twinkl-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.