AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Winston AI
Winston AI · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Winston AI |
|---|---|
| Category | AI detector |
| Pupil-facing | not stated (teacher/consumer tool) |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - scan content never used to train; detection provider contractually barred |
| How long inputs are kept | until deleted; free plan scans deleted after 7 days; backups 30 days |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | older gowinston.ai policy allowed training with explicit opt-in; AI detection accuracy limits apply |
| Main use | AI writing detection |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://winstonai.ai/privacy · https://winstonai.ai/terms · https://gowinston.ai/privacy-policy/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/winston-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.