AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Zoom AI Companion
Zoom Communications · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Zoom Communications |
|---|---|
| Category | meeting summaries / transcription |
| Pupil-facing | depends on institution settings |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - customer audio, video, chat and content not used to train Zoom or third-party models |
| How long inputs are kept | temporary inputs up to 30 days for support/debugging; zero-retention option for some summaries |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | AI Companion can draw on enabled Zoom data from the previous 90 days |
| Main use | Meeting transcription and notes |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.zoom.com/en/products/ai-assistant/resources/privacy-security/ · https://support.zoom.com/hc/en/article?id=zm_kb&sysparm_article=KB0057861 · https://library.zoom.com/ai/ai-whitepaper/data-governance-and-privacy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/zoom-ai-companion. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.