Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance)

Renaissance Learning · reading / assessment · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

Staff and pupils: GREY Not enough information yet

Why grey:

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Not stated
Where data is stored
Mixed
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Reading assessment
Sector
Schools
Research status
Partial

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Renaissance Learning
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.renaissance.com/privacy/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
reading / assessment
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
not stated
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
conflicting public info: older UK notices say US (Wisconsin, AWS US backups); a newer council notice lists AWS Ireland
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
not stated
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.renaissance.com/privacy/
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
Renaissance says its AI analyses de-identified data; confirm hosting region in your contract
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
partial

Sources

  1. renaissance.comhttps://www.renaissance.com/privacy/
  2. renaissance.comhttps://www.renaissance.com/blog/using-ai-responsibly-to-support-teaching-and-learning/
  3. scotborders.gov.ukhttps://www.scotborders.gov.uk/schools-learning/privacy-notice-accelerated-reader-renaissance-learning

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance) safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance) Grey (not enough published information to rate) for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 5 of 6 key fields not stated) and Grey (not enough published information to rate) for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 5 of 6 key fields not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance) train on our data?

Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance) trains its AI on what users type.

Where is Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance) data stored?

conflicting public info: older UK notices say US (Wisconsin, AWS US backups); a newer council notice lists AWS Ireland.

What age is Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance) for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance)?

We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance) changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.