AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Accelerated Reader / Star (Renaissance)
Renaissance Learning · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Renaissance Learning |
|---|---|
| Category | reading / assessment |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | conflicting public info: older UK notices say US (Wisconsin, AWS US backups); a newer council notice lists AWS Ireland |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | Renaissance says its AI analyses de-identified data; confirm hosting region in your contract |
| Main use | Reading assessment |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.renaissance.com/privacy/ · https://www.renaissance.com/blog/using-ai-responsibly-to-support-teaching-and-learning/ · https://www.scotborders.gov.uk/schools-learning/privacy-notice-accelerated-reader-renaissance-learning
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/accelerated-reader-star. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.