Access GCSEPod (AI tools)
The Access Group · revision / assignment & marking assistant · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff: GREEN Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks
Why green:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- UK / EU
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Revision and past papers
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Revision and past papers) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For pupil use
No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.
- It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
- It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
- Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
- There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
- The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account
We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- The Access Group
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.theaccessgroup.com/en-gb/education/software/education-resources/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- revision / assignment & marking assistant
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes - pupils use GCSEPod; AI tools teacher-facing
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor (school is controller)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- UK and EU data centres
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no - student data not used to train models
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- not stated
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- https://www.theaccessgroup.com/en-gb/gdpr-addendum-processor-clauses/
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- Marking Assistant and Assignment Creator outputs editable by teacher
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial
Sources
- theaccessgroup.comhttps://www.theaccessgroup.com/en-gb/campaigns/edu/gscepod/gcsepod-evo/
- help-accessgcsepod.theaccessgroup.comhttps://help-accessgcsepod.theaccessgroup.com/en/articles/14184204-marking-assistant
- theaccessgroup.comhttps://www.theaccessgroup.com/en-gb/gdpr-addendum-processor-clauses/
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Access GCSEPod (AI tools) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Access GCSEPod (AI tools) Green for staff use (Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available) and Amber for pupil use (Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Access GCSEPod (AI tools) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no - student data not used to train models.
Where is Access GCSEPod (AI tools) data stored?
- UK and EU data centres.
What age is Access GCSEPod (AI tools) for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Access GCSEPod (AI tools)?
- We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.