AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Access GCSEPod (AI tools)
The Access Group · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Green · Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks
- Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | The Access Group |
|---|---|
| Category | revision / assignment & marking assistant |
| Pupil-facing | yes - pupils use GCSEPod; AI tools teacher-facing |
| Processor or controller | processor (school is controller) |
| Where data is stored | UK and EU data centres |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - student data not used to train models |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://www.theaccessgroup.com/en-gb/gdpr-addendum-processor-clauses/ |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | Marking Assistant and Assignment Creator outputs editable by teacher |
| Main use | Revision and past papers |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.theaccessgroup.com/en-gb/campaigns/edu/gscepod/gcsepod-evo/ · https://help-accessgcsepod.theaccessgroup.com/en/articles/14184204-marking-assistant · https://www.theaccessgroup.com/en-gb/gdpr-addendum-processor-clauses/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/access-gcsepod. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.