AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Aila (Oak National Academy)
Oak National Academy · Facts last checked 2026-10-22 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
- Supplier says it is not for pupils
| Supplier | Oak National Academy |
|---|---|
| Category | teacher tools |
| Pupil-facing | no - not intended for pupils |
| Processor or controller | controller |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | inputs and outputs stored to improve services incl. AI content quality |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | must not enter identifiable personal data; automated PII filtering not guaranteed |
| Main use | Lesson planning and teacher resources |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: MagicSchool (Green), Teachmate (Green), Brisk Teaching (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.thenational.academy/legal/privacy-policy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/aila. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.