Aila (Oak National Academy)

Oak National Academy · teacher tools · Last checked 2026-10-22

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data

Why red:

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Depends / see detail
Where data is stored
Not stated
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Lesson planning and teacher resources
Sector
Schools
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Lesson planning and teacher resources) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

For staff use

  • MagicSchool · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Teachmate · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Brisk Teaching · Amber
    1 caution point: Training depends on plan or settings

For pupil use

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Oak National Academy
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://labs.thenational.academy/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
teacher tools
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
no - not intended for pupils

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
controller
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
not stated
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
inputs and outputs stored to improve services incl. AI content quality
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.thenational.academy/legal/privacy-policy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
must not enter identifiable personal data; automated PII filtering not guaranteed
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. thenational.academyhttps://www.thenational.academy/legal/privacy-policy

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Aila (Oak National Academy) safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Aila (Oak National Academy) Red for staff use (Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school) and Red for pupil use (Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school; Supplier says it is not for pupils). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-22. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Aila (Oak National Academy) train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: inputs and outputs stored to improve services incl. AI content quality.

Where is Aila (Oak National Academy) data stored?

Not stated in the supplier's published documents.

What age is Aila (Oak National Academy) for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Aila (Oak National Academy)?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: MagicSchool (amber), Teachmate (green), Brisk Teaching (amber), Discovery Education Experience (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Aila (Oak National Academy) changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.