Teachmate
Teachmate Ltd (Co. 14972646) · teacher tools · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff: GREEN Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks
Why green:
Pupils: RED Not recommended for school data
Why red:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- Mixed
- Minimum age
- 18+
- Use case
- Lesson planning and teacher resources
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Lesson planning and teacher resources) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For pupil use
- MagicSchool · Amber
1 caution point: Minimum age not stated - Brisk Teaching · Amber
2 caution points: Training depends on plan or settings - Discovery Education Experience · Amber
3 caution points: Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Teachmate Ltd (Co. 14972646)
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.teachmate.com
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- teacher tools
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- no - teachers only, 18+
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor (school is controller, DPA s.2.1)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- UK and EU (AWS, Microsoft Azure); any transfer outside under IDTA/UK Addendum, UK-US Data Bridge or adequacy (DPA s.5)
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- AI inputs/outputs 28 days; school data deleted 28 days after contract end
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.teachmate.com/trust/privacy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- https://www.teachmate.com/trust/data-processing-agreement
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- yes - DPA incorporated into the terms
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- 18+
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- Cyber Essentials (per Flint review); no named DPO in DPA (per Flint review)
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Teachmate safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Teachmate Green for staff use (Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available) and Red for pupil use (Supplier says it is not for pupils; Minimum age 18+: not suitable for under-18s). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Teachmate train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no.
Where is Teachmate data stored?
- UK and EU (AWS, Microsoft Azure); any transfer outside under IDTA/UK Addendum, UK-US Data Bridge or adequacy (DPA s.5).
What age is Teachmate for?
- 18+.
Is there a safer alternative to Teachmate?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: MagicSchool (amber), Brisk Teaching (amber), Discovery Education Experience (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.