MagicSchool

MagicSchool, Inc. · teacher tools + student · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

Staff: GREEN Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks

Why green:

Pupils: AMBER Use with caution

Why amber:

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
No
Where data is stored
Mixed
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Lesson planning and teacher resources
Sector
Schools
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Lesson planning and teacher resources) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

For pupil use

No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.

  • It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
  • It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
  • Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
  • There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
  • The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account

We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
MagicSchool, Inc.
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.magicschool.ai
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
teacher tools + student
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
not stated

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
processor for schools (service provider/data processor on documented instructions)
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
US (EU-US DPF + UK Extension certified); DPAs include SCCs and the UK International Data Transfer Addendum
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
no for student data - third-party AI providers not permitted to use student data to train or improve models; educator data not stated
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
as long as needed for the processing activity (no period stated)

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.magicschool.ai/privacy-security/privacy-policy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
https://www.magicschool.ai/privacy/trust (DPAs offered)
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
yes - DPAs offered on request (compliance@magicschool.ai)
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
UK rep: DP Data Protection Services UK Ltd

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
supports UK IDTA transfers
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced (primary pages read 23 Oct 2026)

Sources

  1. magicschool.aihttps://www.magicschool.ai/privacy-security/privacy-policy
  2. magicschool.aihttps://www.magicschool.ai/privacy/trust
  3. magicschool.aihttps://www.magicschool.ai/privacy/trust

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is MagicSchool safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates MagicSchool Green for staff use (Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available) and Amber for pupil use (Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does MagicSchool train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: no for student data - third-party AI providers not permitted to use student data to train or improve models; educator data not stated.

Where is MagicSchool data stored?

US (EU-US DPF + UK Extension certified); DPAs include SCCs and the UK International Data Transfer Addendum.

What age is MagicSchool for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to MagicSchool?

We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for MagicSchool changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.