AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
MagicSchool
MagicSchool, Inc. · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Green · Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks
- Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | MagicSchool, Inc. |
|---|---|
| Category | teacher tools + student |
| Pupil-facing | not stated |
| Processor or controller | processor for schools (service provider/data processor on documented instructions) |
| Where data is stored | US (EU-US DPF + UK Extension certified); DPAs include SCCs and the UK International Data Transfer Addendum |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no for student data - third-party AI providers not permitted to use student data to train or improve models; educator data not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | as long as needed for the processing activity (no period stated) |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://www.magicschool.ai/privacy/trust (DPAs offered) |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | yes - DPAs offered on request (compliance@magicschool.ai) |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | UK rep: DP Data Protection Services UK Ltd |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | supports UK IDTA transfers |
| Main use | Lesson planning and teacher resources |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.magicschool.ai/privacy-security/privacy-policy · https://www.magicschool.ai/privacy/trust · https://www.magicschool.ai/privacy/trust
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/magicschool. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.