Discovery Education Experience

Discovery Education · curriculum resources · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution

Why amber:

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Not stated
Where data is stored
UK / EU
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Lesson planning and teacher resources
Sector
Schools
Research status
Partial

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Lesson planning and teacher resources) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

For staff use

  • MagicSchool · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Teachmate · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Brisk Teaching · Amber
    1 caution point (this tool: 2): Training depends on plan or settings

For pupil use

  • MagicSchool · Amber
    1 caution point (this tool: 3): Minimum age not stated
  • Brisk Teaching · Amber
    2 caution points (this tool: 3): Training depends on plan or settings

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Discovery Education
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.discoveryeducation.co.uk/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
curriculum resources
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
processor (school is controller)
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
AWS London (incl. backups)
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
not stated
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.discoveryeducation.com/uk/legal/privacy/
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
https://www.discoveryeducation.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/Discovery-Education-GDPR-Data-Processing-Addendum-05.2023.pdf
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
sub-processor list published; AI-specific features/handling not stated
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
partial

Sources

  1. discoveryeducation.comhttps://www.discoveryeducation.com/uk/legal/privacy/
  2. help.discoveryeducation.co.ukhttps://help.discoveryeducation.co.uk/hc/en-gb/articles/4408534016787-Where-we-store-your-personal-data
  3. discoveryeducation.comhttps://www.discoveryeducation.com/uk/subprocessors/

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Discovery Education Experience safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Discovery Education Experience Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Discovery Education Experience train on our data?

Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Discovery Education Experience trains its AI on what users type.

Where is Discovery Education Experience data stored?

AWS London (incl. backups).

What age is Discovery Education Experience for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Discovery Education Experience?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: MagicSchool (amber), Teachmate (green), Brisk Teaching (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Discovery Education Experience changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.