← Back to Discovery Education Experience

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Discovery Education Experience

Discovery Education · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
  • 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
  • 3 of 6 key fields not stated
  • Minimum age not stated
SupplierDiscovery Education
Categorycurriculum resources
Pupil-facingyes
Processor or controllerprocessor (school is controller)
Where data is storedAWS London (incl. backups)
Trains AI models on inputsnot stated
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)https://www.discoveryeducation.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/Discovery-Education-GDPR-Data-Processing-Addendum-05.2023.pdf
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notesub-processor list published; AI-specific features/handling not stated
Main useLesson planning and teacher resources

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: MagicSchool (Green), Teachmate (Green), Brisk Teaching (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://www.discoveryeducation.com/uk/legal/privacy/ · https://help.discoveryeducation.co.uk/hc/en-gb/articles/4408534016787-Where-we-store-your-personal-data · https://www.discoveryeducation.com/uk/subprocessors/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/discovery-education-experience. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.