Amira (AI reading tutor)

Amira Learning · AI reading tutor · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
No
Where data is stored
Not stated
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Reading and literacy practice
Sector
Schools
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Reading and literacy practice) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Amira Learning
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.amiralearning.com/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
AI reading tutor
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes - records children reading

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
not stated
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
not stated
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
no direct training on recordings; de-identified data used, with opt-out
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
practice audio not saved; assessment audio deleted within 48 hours by default (longer if school chooses)

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.amiralearning.com/privacy-policy-eu-uk
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
records children's voices while reading; no voiceprints
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. amiralearning.comhttps://www.amiralearning.com/privacy-and-security
  2. amiralearning.comhttps://www.amiralearning.com/privacy-policy-eu-uk

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Amira (AI reading tutor) safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Amira (AI reading tutor) Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Doesn’t say where data is stored; No school DPA found; 4 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Doesn’t say where data is stored; No school DPA found; 4 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Amira (AI reading tutor) train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: no direct training on recordings; de-identified data used, with opt-out.

Where is Amira (AI reading tutor) data stored?

Not stated in the supplier's published documents.

What age is Amira (AI reading tutor) for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Amira (AI reading tutor)?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Lexia Core5 / PowerUp (LexiaUK) (amber), Microsoft Reading Coach (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Amira (AI reading tutor) changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.