← Back to Amira (AI reading tutor)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Amira (AI reading tutor)

Amira Learning · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
SupplierAmira Learning
CategoryAI reading tutor
Pupil-facingyes - records children reading
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno direct training on recordings; de-identified data used, with opt-out
How long inputs are keptpractice audio not saved; assessment audio deleted within 48 hours by default (longer if school chooses)
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety noterecords children's voices while reading; no voiceprints
Main useReading and literacy practice

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Lexia Core5 / PowerUp (LexiaUK) (Amber), Microsoft Reading Coach (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://www.amiralearning.com/privacy-and-security · https://www.amiralearning.com/privacy-policy-eu-uk
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/amira. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.