Atom Learning

Atom Learning · adaptive learning (11+) · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution

Why amber:

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Not stated
Where data is stored
UK / EU
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Adaptive maths practice
Sector
Schools
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Adaptive maths practice) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

  • Dr Frost Learning · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Times Tables Rock Stars / NumBots · Amber
    1 caution point (this tool: 2): Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Atom Learning
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.atomlearning.com
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
adaptive learning (11+)
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
processor for school-uploaded data; controller for parent accounts
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
EEA
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
not stated
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.atomlearning.com/privacy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
https://space-1.atomlearning.com/docs/school/AS.3%20-%20Atom%20School%20-%20Data%20Processing%20Agreement.pdf
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
adaptive (non-generative) AI; pupil data sanitised before internal ML analysis
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. atomlearning.comhttps://www.atomlearning.com/gdpr
  2. atomlearning.comhttps://www.atomlearning.com/privacy
  3. atomlearning.comhttps://www.atomlearning.com/blog/what-is-adaptive-learning

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Atom Learning safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Atom Learning Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Atom Learning train on our data?

Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Atom Learning trains its AI on what users type.

Where is Atom Learning data stored?

EEA.

What age is Atom Learning for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Atom Learning?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Dr Frost Learning (amber), Times Tables Rock Stars / NumBots (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Atom Learning changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.