AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Atom Learning
Atom Learning · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | Atom Learning |
|---|---|
| Category | adaptive learning (11+) |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | processor for school-uploaded data; controller for parent accounts |
| Where data is stored | EEA |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://space-1.atomlearning.com/docs/school/AS.3%20-%20Atom%20School%20-%20Data%20Processing%20Agreement.pdf |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | adaptive (non-generative) AI; pupil data sanitised before internal ML analysis |
| Main use | Adaptive maths practice |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Dr Frost Learning (Green), Times Tables Rock Stars / NumBots (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.atomlearning.com/gdpr · https://www.atomlearning.com/privacy · https://www.atomlearning.com/blog/what-is-adaptive-learning
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/atom-learning. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.