Bromcom AI
Bromcom Computers plc · MIS AI assistant · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- Mixed
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- MIS and admin
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (MIS and admin) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For staff use
- Arbor AI / Ask Arbor · Amber
1 caution point (this tool: 2): No school DPA found
For pupil use
- Arbor AI / Ask Arbor · Amber
2 caution points: No school DPA found - Schoolbox AI · Amber
5 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Bromcom Computers plc
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://bromcom.com/bromcom-ai
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- MIS AI assistant
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- no - staff-facing
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor for MIS data (school/MAT/LA is controller)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- Quick Reports: Azure OpenAI UK; general bots: OpenAI API (US); help bots: Gemini (EU), Mistral/ElevenLabs (EU/UK)
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no - contractual training opt-outs with all providers
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- Azure: no retention by OpenAI; OpenAI API up to 30 days; Gemini up to 24 hours; voice metadata up to 730 days
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://bromcom.com/privacy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- anything staff type into the general chatbot goes to OpenAI (US); Bromcom humans review logs; AI can be switched off by role or system-wide
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
- docs.bromcom.comhttps://docs.bromcom.com/knowledge-base/bromcom-ai-data-processing/
- bromcom.comhttps://bromcom.com/privacy
- docs.bromcom.comhttps://docs.bromcom.com/product-portfolio/bromcom-ai/
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Bromcom AI safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Bromcom AI Amber for staff use (Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found) and Red for pupil use (Supplier says it is not for pupils). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Bromcom AI train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no - contractual training opt-outs with all providers.
Where is Bromcom AI data stored?
- Quick Reports: Azure OpenAI UK; general bots: OpenAI API (US); help bots: Gemini (EU), Mistral/ElevenLabs (EU/UK).
What age is Bromcom AI for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Bromcom AI?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Arbor AI / Ask Arbor (amber), Schoolbox AI (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.