← Back to Bromcom AI

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Bromcom AI

Bromcom Computers plc · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Supplier says it is not for pupils
SupplierBromcom Computers plc
CategoryMIS AI assistant
Pupil-facingno - staff-facing
Processor or controllerprocessor for MIS data (school/MAT/LA is controller)
Where data is storedQuick Reports: Azure OpenAI UK; general bots: OpenAI API (US); help bots: Gemini (EU), Mistral/ElevenLabs (EU/UK)
Trains AI models on inputsno - contractual training opt-outs with all providers
How long inputs are keptAzure: no retention by OpenAI; OpenAI API up to 30 days; Gemini up to 24 hours; voice metadata up to 730 days
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety noteanything staff type into the general chatbot goes to OpenAI (US); Bromcom humans review logs; AI can be switched off by role or system-wide
Main useMIS and admin

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Arbor AI / Ask Arbor (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://docs.bromcom.com/knowledge-base/bromcom-ai-data-processing/ · https://bromcom.com/privacy · https://docs.bromcom.com/product-portfolio/bromcom-ai/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/bromcom-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.