Canva (Education / Magic Studio)
Canva · design · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff: GREEN Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks
Why green:
Pupils: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- UK / EU
- Minimum age
- 13–17
- Use case
- Graphic design
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Graphic design) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For pupil use
No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.
- It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
- It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
- Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
- There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
- The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account
We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Canva
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.canva.com/education/schools/student-safety/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- design
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor where Canva's Data Processing Addendum applies (customer is controller)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- region not stated; restricted transfers under SCCs with the UK Addendum (DPA s.2.4)
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no - Canva Education user content not used for AI training; AI partners may not retain or train
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- deleted on request, recovery windows for deleted designs (no period)
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.canva.com/policies/privacy-policy/
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- https://www.canva.com/policies/data-processing-addendum/
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- under-13s only via school-managed accounts (no self-registration)
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- consumer Canva DOES train on data by default (opt-out); Education terms differ
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Canva (Education / Magic Studio) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Canva (Education / Magic Studio) Green for staff use (Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available) and Amber for pupil use (Minimum age under-13s only via school-managed accounts (no self-registration): not for younger pupils; check consent). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Canva (Education / Magic Studio) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no - Canva Education user content not used for AI training; AI partners may not retain or train.
Where is Canva (Education / Magic Studio) data stored?
- region not stated; restricted transfers under SCCs with the UK Addendum (DPA s.2.4).
What age is Canva (Education / Magic Studio) for?
- under-13s only via school-managed accounts (no self-registration).
Is there a safer alternative to Canva (Education / Magic Studio)?
- We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.