← Back to Canva (Education / Magic Studio)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Canva (Education / Magic Studio)

Canva · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Green · Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks
  • Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Minimum age under-13s only via school-managed accounts (no self-registration): not for younger pupils; check consent
SupplierCanva
Categorydesign
Pupil-facingyes
Processor or controllerprocessor where Canva's Data Processing Addendum applies (customer is controller)
Where data is storedregion not stated; restricted transfers under SCCs with the UK Addendum (DPA s.2.4)
Trains AI models on inputsno - Canva Education user content not used for AI training; AI partners may not retain or train
How long inputs are keptdeleted on request, recovery windows for deleted designs (no period)
Data processing agreement (DPA)https://www.canva.com/policies/data-processing-addendum/
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum ageunder-13s only via school-managed accounts (no self-registration)
Key safety noteconsumer Canva DOES train on data by default (opt-out); Education terms differ
Main useGraphic design
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://www.canva.com/education/schools/student-safety/ · https://www.canva.com/policies/privacy-policy/ · https://www.canva.com/policies/data-processing-addendum/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/canva. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.