Carousel Learning (AI Insights)
Carousel Learning Ltd · retrieval quizzes · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Not stated
- Where data is stored
- UK / EU
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Quizzes and classroom games
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Quizzes and classroom games) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- Kahoot! (AI features) · Green
Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Carousel Learning Ltd
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.carousel-learning.com/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- retrieval quizzes
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes - pupils answer quizzes; AI Insights is teacher-facing
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor (school is controller)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- UK (per council privacy statement)
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- not stated
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.carousel-learning.com/terms-of-service
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- no separate DPA - terms of service cover processing
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- AI Insights (beta) analyses quiz answers; which AI provider is used and whether answers leave the UK not stated
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial
Sources
- carousel-learning.zendesk.comhttps://carousel-learning.zendesk.com/hc/en-gb/articles/360018585240-Carousel-s-approach-to-GDPR-and-Data-Privacy
- carousel-learning.zendesk.comhttps://carousel-learning.zendesk.com/hc/en-gb/articles/38636071686418-AI-Insights-report
- argyll-bute.gov.ukhttps://www.argyll-bute.gov.uk/education-and-learning/carousel-learning-privacy-statement
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Carousel Learning (AI Insights) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Carousel Learning (AI Insights) Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Carousel Learning (AI Insights) train on our data?
- Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Carousel Learning (AI Insights) trains its AI on what users type.
Where is Carousel Learning (AI Insights) data stored?
- UK (per council privacy statement).
What age is Carousel Learning (AI Insights) for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Carousel Learning (AI Insights)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Kahoot! (AI features) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.