ChatGPT Free / Plus
OpenAI · general chatbot · Last checked 2026-10-23
General-purpose, not designed for schools
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data
Why red:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Yes
- Where data is stored
- Not stated
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- General AI assistant / chatbot
- Sector
- Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (General AI assistant / chatbot) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- ChatGPT Edu · Green
Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available - Gemini app (Workspace for Education) · Green
Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available - Microsoft 365 Copilot · Green
Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- OpenAI
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://chatgpt.com
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- general chatbot
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- not stated
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- controller (consumer service)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- not stated
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- YES by default (opt-out: Settings > Data controls > Improve the model for everyone); Temporary Chats not used
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- chats kept until deleted; Temporary Chats up to 30 days
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://openai.com/en-GB/policies/row-privacy-policy/
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- not stated
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial (primary pages read 23 Oct 2026; fields marked "not stated" could not be confirmed)
Sources
Change history
| Date | Field | Was | Now | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | (new entry) | — | Added to the directory | help.openai.com |
Quick answers
Is ChatGPT Free / Plus safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates ChatGPT Free / Plus Red for staff use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated; Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school) and Red for pupil use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated; Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does ChatGPT Free / Plus train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: YES by default (opt-out: Settings > Data controls > Improve the model for everyone); Temporary Chats not used.
Where is ChatGPT Free / Plus data stored?
- Not stated in the supplier's published documents.
What age is ChatGPT Free / Plus for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to ChatGPT Free / Plus?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: ChatGPT Edu (amber), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (amber), Microsoft 365 Copilot (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.