← Back to ChatGPT Free / Plus

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

ChatGPT Free / Plus

OpenAI · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
  • Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
  • Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
SupplierOpenAI
Categorygeneral chatbot
Pupil-facingnot stated
Processor or controllercontroller (consumer service)
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsYES by default (opt-out: Settings > Data controls > Improve the model for everyone); Temporary Chats not used
How long inputs are keptchats kept until deleted; Temporary Chats up to 30 days
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notenot stated
Main useGeneral AI assistant / chatbot

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://help.openai.com/en/articles/7730893-data-controls-in-chatgpt · https://openai.com/en-GB/policies/row-privacy-policy/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/chatgpt-free-plus. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.