Claude (Free / Pro / Max)

Anthropic · general chatbot · Last checked 2026-10-23

General-purpose, not designed for schools

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data

Why red:

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Depends / see detail
Where data is stored
Not stated
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
General AI assistant / chatbot
Sector
Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
Research status
Partial

Safer alternatives

Same main use (General AI assistant / chatbot) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

  • ChatGPT Edu · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Gemini app (Workspace for Education) · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Microsoft 365 Copilot · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Anthropic
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://claude.ai
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
general chatbot
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
not stated

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
controller (consumer service)
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
not stated
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
depends - your choice in Settings > Privacy (Help improve our AI models)
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
deleted chats removed within 30 days; up to 5 years (de-identified) if training is on; flagged chats up to 2 years

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://privacy.claude.com
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
not stated
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
partial (primary pages read 23 Oct 2026; fields marked "not stated" could not be confirmed)

Sources

  1. privacy.claude.comhttps://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/12109829-how-do-i-change-my-model-improvement-privacy-settings
  2. privacy.claude.comhttps://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10023548-how-long-do-you-store-my-data
  3. anthropic.comhttps://www.anthropic.com/news/updates-to-our-consumer-terms

Change history

DateFieldWasNowSource
2026-10-22(new entry)—Added to the directoryprivacy.claude.com

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Claude (Free / Pro / Max) safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Claude (Free / Pro / Max) Red for staff use (Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school) and Red for pupil use (Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Claude (Free / Pro / Max) train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: depends - your choice in Settings > Privacy (Help improve our AI models).

Where is Claude (Free / Pro / Max) data stored?

Not stated in the supplier's published documents.

What age is Claude (Free / Pro / Max) for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Claude (Free / Pro / Max)?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: ChatGPT Edu (amber), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (amber), Microsoft 365 Copilot (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Claude (Free / Pro / Max) changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.