← Back to Claude (Free / Pro / Max)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Claude (Free / Pro / Max)

Anthropic · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
SupplierAnthropic
Categorygeneral chatbot
Pupil-facingnot stated
Processor or controllercontroller (consumer service)
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsdepends - your choice in Settings > Privacy (Help improve our AI models)
How long inputs are keptdeleted chats removed within 30 days; up to 5 years (de-identified) if training is on; flagged chats up to 2 years
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notenot stated
Main useGeneral AI assistant / chatbot

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/12109829-how-do-i-change-my-model-improvement-privacy-settings · https://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10023548-how-long-do-you-store-my-data · https://www.anthropic.com/news/updates-to-our-consumer-terms
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/claude. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.