← Back to ElevenLabs

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

ElevenLabs

ElevenLabs · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
  • Supplier says it is not for pupils
  • Minimum age 18: not suitable for under-18s
SupplierElevenLabs
CategoryAI voice / text-to-speech
Pupil-facingno - 18+ only
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsYES - voice data used to improve models unless user opts out in settings (applies to new data only)
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum age18
Key safety notemust not upload recordings of anyone under 18 to create or train a voice
Main useText-to-speech and reading support

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Anthology Ally (AI Alt Text Assistant) (Amber), Clicker (Cai) (Amber), Microsoft Immersive Reader (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://help.elevenlabs.io/hc/en-us/articles/29952728805393-Is-my-data-used-to-improve-ElevenLabs-AI-models · https://elevenlabs.io/privacy-policy · https://elevenlabs.io/use-policy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/elevenlabs. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.