ElevenLabs
ElevenLabs · AI voice / text-to-speech · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data
Why red:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Yes
- Where data is stored
- Not stated
- Minimum age
- 18+
- Use case
- Text-to-speech and reading support
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Text-to-speech and reading support) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For staff use
- Anthology Ally (AI Alt Text Assistant) · Amber
4 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller - Clicker (Cai) · Amber
4 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller - Microsoft Immersive Reader · Amber
4 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
For pupil use
- Microsoft Immersive Reader · Amber
5 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller - NaturalReader · Amber
5 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller - Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) · Amber
5 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- ElevenLabs
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://elevenlabs.io/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- AI voice / text-to-speech
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- no - 18+ only
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- not stated
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- YES - voice data used to improve models unless user opts out in settings (applies to new data only)
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://elevenlabs.io/privacy-policy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- 18
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- must not upload recordings of anyone under 18 to create or train a voice
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
- help.elevenlabs.iohttps://help.elevenlabs.io/hc/en-us/articles/29952728805393-Is-my-data-used-to-improve-ElevenLabs-AI-models
- elevenlabs.iohttps://elevenlabs.io/privacy-policy
- elevenlabs.iohttps://elevenlabs.io/use-policy
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is ElevenLabs safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates ElevenLabs Red for staff use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated) and Red for pupil use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated; Supplier says it is not for pupils; Minimum age 18: not suitable for under-18s). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does ElevenLabs train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: YES - voice data used to improve models unless user opts out in settings (applies to new data only).
Where is ElevenLabs data stored?
- Not stated in the supplier's published documents.
What age is ElevenLabs for?
- 18.
Is there a safer alternative to ElevenLabs?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Anthology Ally (AI Alt Text Assistant) (amber), Clicker (Cai) (amber), Microsoft Immersive Reader (amber), NaturalReader (amber), Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.