Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway)

Everway (formerly Texthelp) · accessibility / literacy support · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
No
Where data is stored
Other / unclear
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Text-to-speech and reading support
Sector
Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
Research status
Partial

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Text-to-speech and reading support) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.

  • It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
  • It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
  • Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
  • There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
  • The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account

We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Everway (formerly Texthelp)
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.everway.com/products/everway-for-work/ai/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
accessibility / literacy support
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
not stated
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
Refine and Summaries run on-device (Gemma 3); legacy Simplify AI beta used OpenAI
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
no - on-device models are static; inputs not stored or used for training
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
on-device features: not stored

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
not stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
older Simplify AI beta (Chrome) sent webpage text to OpenAI; check which version your school runs
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
partial

Sources

  1. everway.comhttps://www.everway.com/products/everway-for-work/ai/
  2. texthelpsupport.knowledgeowl.comhttps://texthelpsupport.knowledgeowl.com/help/simplify-ai-disclaimer
  3. academy.texthelp.comhttps://academy.texthelp.com/read-and-write-education/howtos/how-to-simplify-some-text-using-ai/

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: no - on-device models are static; inputs not stored or used for training.

Where is Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) data stored?

Refine and Summaries run on-device (Gemma 3); legacy Simplify AI beta used OpenAI.

What age is Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway)?

We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Read&Write (Texthelp / Everway) changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.