Genio Notes (formerly Glean)
Genio (Glean Technologies Ltd) · note-taking / accessibility (DSA) · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- Not stated
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Lecture notes, captions and dictation
- Sector
- Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Lecture notes, captions and dictation) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- Caption.Ed · Amber
3 caution points (this tool: 4): Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Genio (Glean Technologies Ltd)
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://genio.co/blog/goodbye-glean-hello-genio
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- note-taking / accessibility (DSA)
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes - students record lectures
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- not stated
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no - says user audio not used to train commercial AI models
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://genio.co/hubfs/Glean%20Privacy%20Notice%20for%20our%20website%20and%20app%20October%202024.pdf
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- records lectures (may capture other people's voices); AI quizzes built from the student's own class material
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial
Sources
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Genio Notes (formerly Glean) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Genio Notes (formerly Glean) Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Doesn’t say where data is stored; No school DPA found; 5 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Doesn’t say where data is stored; No school DPA found; 5 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Genio Notes (formerly Glean) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no - says user audio not used to train commercial AI models.
Where is Genio Notes (formerly Glean) data stored?
- Not stated in the supplier's published documents.
What age is Genio Notes (formerly Glean) for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Genio Notes (formerly Glean)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Caption.Ed (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.