← Back to Genio Notes (formerly Glean)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

Genio Notes (formerly Glean)

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Genio (Glean Technologies Ltd) · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
SupplierGenio (Glean Technologies Ltd)
Categorynote-taking / accessibility (DSA)
Pupil-facingyes - students record lectures
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno - says user audio not used to train commercial AI models
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety noterecords lectures (may capture other people's voices); AI quizzes built from the student's own class material
Main useLecture notes, captions and dictation

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Caption.Ed (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://genio.co/blog/goodbye-glean-hello-genio · https://glean.co/blog/ai-and-data-security · https://genio.co/hubfs/Glean%20Privacy%20Notice%20for%20our%20website%20and%20app%20October%202024.pdf
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/genio-notes. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.