Gradescope (AI-assisted grading)
Turnitin · marking / grading · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data
Why red:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Yes
- Where data is stored
- Not stated
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Marking and assessment platform
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Marking and assessment platform) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- No More Marking (AI marking / Double Marker) · Amber
1 caution point: Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated - Boost / Boost Insights (Hachette Learning, formerly Hodder Education) · Amber
3 caution points: Doesn’t say where data is stored
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Turnitin
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.gradescope.com/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- marking / grading
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes - students submit work
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor (institution is controller)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- not stated
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- YES - submissions may be used to refine AI features (handwriting recognition, answer grouping, text matching)
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- submissions may be stored indefinitely unless institution instructs deletion
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.gradescope.com/privacy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- AI groups similar answers; instructor grades
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
- gradescope.comhttps://www.gradescope.com/privacy
- guides.gradescope.comhttps://guides.gradescope.com/hc/en-us/articles/24838908062093-AI-assisted-grading-and-answer-groups
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Gradescope (AI-assisted grading) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Gradescope (AI-assisted grading) Red for staff use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated) and Red for pupil use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Gradescope (AI-assisted grading) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: YES - submissions may be used to refine AI features (handwriting recognition, answer grouping, text matching).
Where is Gradescope (AI-assisted grading) data stored?
- Not stated in the supplier's published documents.
What age is Gradescope (AI-assisted grading) for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Gradescope (AI-assisted grading)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: No More Marking (AI marking / Double Marker) (amber), Boost / Boost Insights (Hachette Learning, formerly Hodder Education) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.