AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Gradescope (AI-assisted grading)
Turnitin · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
| Supplier | Turnitin |
|---|---|
| Category | marking / grading |
| Pupil-facing | yes - students submit work |
| Processor or controller | processor (institution is controller) |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - submissions may be used to refine AI features (handwriting recognition, answer grouping, text matching) |
| How long inputs are kept | submissions may be stored indefinitely unless institution instructs deletion |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | AI groups similar answers; instructor grades |
| Main use | Marking and assessment platform |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: No More Marking (AI marking / Double Marker) (Amber), Boost / Boost Insights (Hachette Learning, formerly Hodder Education) (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.gradescope.com/privacy · https://guides.gradescope.com/hc/en-us/articles/24838908062093-AI-assisted-grading-and-answer-groups
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/gradescope. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.