AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
HeyGen
HeyGen · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)
- Supplier says it is not for pupils
- Minimum age 18: not suitable for under-18s
| Supplier | HeyGen |
|---|---|
| Category | AI video avatars |
| Pupil-facing | no - 18+ only |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - user content may train models unless opted out; enterprise excluded |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | 18 |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | AI video creation |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Descript (Amber), Pictory (Amber), Synthesia (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.heygen.com/terms · https://www.heygen.com/privacy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/heygen. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.