Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent

Microsoft · lesson planning / study agent · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
No
Where data is stored
Other / unclear
Minimum age
13–17
Use case
General AI assistant / chatbot
Sector
Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (General AI assistant / chatbot) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

  • ChatGPT Edu · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Gemini app (Workspace for Education) · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
  • Microsoft 365 Copilot · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Microsoft
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/copilot/teach-in-the-microsoft-365-copilot-app
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
lesson planning / study agent
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
Teach: staff only; Study and Learn: students 13+

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
processor (school tenant)
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
within the school's Microsoft 365 tenant
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
no - not used to train foundation models
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/copilot/microsoft-365-copilot-privacy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
Study and Learn agent 13+
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
not stated
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. support.microsoft.comhttps://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/copilot/teach-in-the-microsoft-365-copilot-app
  2. learn.microsoft.comhttps://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/education/guide/1-reference/configure-microsoft-copilot-security-education
  3. support.microsoft.comhttps://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/copilot/privacy-responsible-ai-study-learn-agent

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent Amber for staff use (Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found) and Amber for pupil use (Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; Minimum age Study and Learn agent 13+: not for younger pupils; check consent). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: no - not used to train foundation models.

Where is Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent data stored?

within the school's Microsoft 365 tenant.

What age is Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent for?

Study and Learn agent 13+.

Is there a safer alternative to Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: ChatGPT Edu (amber), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (amber), Microsoft 365 Copilot (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.