AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Microsoft Copilot Teach / Study and Learn agent
Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
- No school DPA found
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
- No school DPA found
- Minimum age Study and Learn agent 13+: not for younger pupils; check consent
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | lesson planning / study agent |
| Pupil-facing | Teach: staff only; Study and Learn: students 13+ |
| Processor or controller | processor (school tenant) |
| Where data is stored | within the school's Microsoft 365 tenant |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - not used to train foundation models |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | Study and Learn agent 13+ |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | General AI assistant / chatbot |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)
Sources: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/copilot/teach-in-the-microsoft-365-copilot-app · https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/education/guide/1-reference/configure-microsoft-copilot-security-education · https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/copilot/privacy-responsible-ai-study-learn-agent
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-copilot-teach-study-and-learn-agent. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.