← Back to Napkin

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Napkin

Second Layer, Inc. · Facts last checked 2026-10-22 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
SupplierSecond Layer, Inc.
Categoryvisuals
Pupil-facingnot stated
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storedGoogle Cloud; Gemini and other providers
Trains AI models on inputsnot stated
How long inputs are keptas long as necessary; AI providers may retain (see subprocessor page)
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPODPO: Erwan Martin
Minimum age13+
Key safety notenot stated
Main useGraphic design

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Canva (Education / Magic Studio) (Green), Adobe Express for Education (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://www.napkin.ai/privacy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/napkin. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.