Napkin
Second Layer, Inc. · visuals · Last checked 2026-10-22
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Not stated
- Where data is stored
- Other / unclear
- Minimum age
- 13–17
- Use case
- Graphic design
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Graphic design) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- Canva (Education / Magic Studio) · Green
Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available - Adobe Express for Education · Amber
3 caution points (this tool: 5): Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Second Layer, Inc.
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.napkin.ai
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- visuals
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- not stated
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- Google Cloud; Gemini and other providers
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- not stated
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- as long as necessary; AI providers may retain (see subprocessor page)
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.napkin.ai/privacy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- DPO: Erwan Martin
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- 13+
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- not stated
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
- napkin.aihttps://www.napkin.ai/privacy
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Napkin safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Napkin Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age 13+: not for younger pupils; check consent). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-22. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Napkin train on our data?
- Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Napkin trains its AI on what users type.
Where is Napkin data stored?
- Google Cloud; Gemini and other providers.
What age is Napkin for?
- 13+.
Is there a safer alternative to Napkin?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Canva (Education / Magic Studio) (amber), Adobe Express for Education (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.