Proctorio

Proctorio Inc · online exam proctoring · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Not stated
Where data is stored
Mixed
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Exam proctoring
Sector
Higher education (HE), Further education (FE)
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Exam proctoring) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.

  • It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
  • It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
  • Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
  • There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
  • The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account

We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Proctorio Inc
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://proctorio.com/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
online exam proctoring
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes - records students

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
processor (institution is controller)
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
region chosen by institution (Europe, US, Canada and others)
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
not stated
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
set by institution; up to 30 days after contract end; e.g. Wolverhampton keeps recordings 2 years

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://proctorio.com/privacy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
webcam/screen/audio recording of students with automated behaviour flags; recordings end-to-end encrypted
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. proctorio.comhttps://proctorio.com/privacy
  2. proctorio.comhttps://proctorio.com/privacy/data-security
  3. wlv.ac.ukhttps://www.wlv.ac.uk/about-us/governance/legal-information/data-protection/wepe-privacy-notice/

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Proctorio safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Proctorio Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Proctorio train on our data?

Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Proctorio trains its AI on what users type.

Where is Proctorio data stored?

region chosen by institution (Europe, US, Canada and others).

What age is Proctorio for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Proctorio?

We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Proctorio changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.