AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Proctorio
Proctorio Inc · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Proctorio Inc |
|---|---|
| Category | online exam proctoring |
| Pupil-facing | yes - records students |
| Processor or controller | processor (institution is controller) |
| Where data is stored | region chosen by institution (Europe, US, Canada and others) |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | set by institution; up to 30 days after contract end; e.g. Wolverhampton keeps recordings 2 years |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | webcam/screen/audio recording of students with automated behaviour flags; recordings end-to-end encrypted |
| Main use | Exam proctoring |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://proctorio.com/privacy · https://proctorio.com/privacy/data-security · https://www.wlv.ac.uk/about-us/governance/legal-information/data-protection/wepe-privacy-notice/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/proctorio. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.