Seneca
AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Seneca Learning Ltd (ICO ZA267365) · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- No school DPA found
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- No school DPA found
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Seneca Learning Ltd (ICO ZA267365) |
|---|---|
| Category | revision |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | processor via school; controller if direct |
| Where data is stored | EU (Dublin), AES-256 |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | as long as reasonably necessary; anonymised data may be used indefinitely (privacy policy) |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | data privacy manager named in privacy policy (London address) |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | Cyber Essentials; ICO registered; privacy policy lists improving "algorithms, models" as a legitimate interest but does not describe AI training on pupil inputs |
| Main use | Revision and past papers |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Access GCSEPod (AI tools) (Green)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://help.senecalearning.com/en/articles/2483304-is-my-child-s-data-safe · https://senecalearning.com/en-gb/privacy/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/seneca. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.