Seneca

Seneca Learning Ltd (ICO ZA267365) · revision · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Not stated
Where data is stored
UK / EU
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Revision and past papers
Sector
Schools
Research status
Partial

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Revision and past papers) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

  • Access GCSEPod (AI tools) · Green
    Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Seneca Learning Ltd (ICO ZA267365)
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://senecalearning.com
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
revision
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
processor via school; controller if direct
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
EU (Dublin), AES-256
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
not stated
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
as long as reasonably necessary; anonymised data may be used indefinitely (privacy policy)

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://senecalearning.com/en-gb/privacy/
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
data privacy manager named in privacy policy (London address)

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
Cyber Essentials; ICO registered; privacy policy lists improving "algorithms, models" as a legitimate interest but does not describe AI training on pupil inputs
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
partial - privacy policy (31 Mar 2025) read 23 Oct 2026; AI training not stated

Sources

  1. help.senecalearning.comhttps://help.senecalearning.com/en/articles/2483304-is-my-child-s-data-safe
  2. senecalearning.comhttps://senecalearning.com/en-gb/privacy/

Change history

DateFieldWasNowSource
2026-10-23input retention—as long as reasonably necessary; anonymised data may be used indefinitely (privacy policy)senecalearning.com
2026-10-23uk gdpr rep or dpo—data privacy manager named in privacy policy (London address)senecalearning.com
2026-10-23key safety noteCyber Essentials; AI processing not describedCyber Essentials; ICO registered; privacy policy lists improving "algorithms, models" as a legitimate interest but does not describe AI training on pupil inputssenecalearning.com
2026-10-23Staff ratinggreyambersenecalearning.com
2026-10-23Pupil ratinggreyambersenecalearning.com

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Seneca safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Seneca Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Seneca train on our data?

Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Seneca trains its AI on what users type.

Where is Seneca data stored?

EU (Dublin), AES-256.

What age is Seneca for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Seneca?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Access GCSEPod (AI tools) (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Seneca changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.